Are You Passionate?

The album Are You Passionate? was released in April 2002. It was produced by Neil Young, Booker T. Jones, Duck Dunn, and Poncho Sampedro and was released on the Reprise label.

Are You Passionate? cover


1. You're My Girl
2. Mr. Disappointment
3. Differently
4. Quit (Don't Say You Love Me)
5. Let's Roll
6. Are You Passionate?
7. Goin' Home
8. When I Hold You in My Arms
9. Be With You
10. Two Old Friends
11. She's a Healer

This album distinguish from other Neil Young album being the fact that Booker T. & the M.G.'s was featured. All tracks are, however, written by Neil. The collaboration could be notice by the ingredients of soul in songs like “Differently”, “She’s A Healer” and especially "Be With You".

Estimating the compositions, this is a somewhat bleak album; it do include some fine numbers, but also dissapointment such as the opening track "You're My Girl". It also marks a following trend in the oeuvre of Neil Young that had been going on for a long time, trying new styles or concept on many albums. This could be called Neil’s soul album” if such an epithet would be wished for.

Greg Kot that did the review for Rolling Stone was positive and wrote “Young embraces not just the music but the indomitable spirit of Southern soul”.

Besides Booker T. & the M.G.'s, Neil’s old companions Crazy Horse participated on the studio recording. They are probably most recognizable on "Goin' Home", which also may be the high point on Are You Passionate?


← Silver & Gold   •   Greendale