Broken Arrow

The album Broken Arrow was released in July 1996 and was recorded by Neil Young and Crazy Horse. It was produced by Brendan O'Brien.

Broken Arrow cover


1. Big Time
2. Loose Change
3. Slip Away
4. Changing Highways
5. Scattered (Let's Think About Livin')
6. This Town
7. Music Arcade
8. Baby What You Want Me to Do
9. Interstate*
* Only on vinyl

”Broken Arrow” had been a title of a song on the Buffalo Springfield Again album. It was also the name Neil Young had given the ranch he moved to in 1970 – the album was suitable enough recorded on the ranch.

Some songs lo-fi felling of production. Especially the last song “Baby What You Want Me to Do” – a cover of the Jimmy Reed song – recorded live has more to wish for in that aspect.

An additional song, would be released as a bonus track on the vinyl edition – the song was recorded on the Ragged Glory-sessions, but it is acoustic and has otherwise very little in common with that album.

The reviews for the album were negative, sometimes very negative, but there are without doubt some great material on Broken Arrow, if the sometimes poor production is ignored.


← Mirror Ball   •   Silver & Gold →