In October 1977 was Decade released and became the first Neil Young compilation. As the name implies, the idea was to summarize ten years of production. It was released as a triple album (and later double CD) and includes 35 songs.

Decade cover


1. Down To The Wire
2. Burned
3. Mr. Soul
4. Broken Arrow
5. Expecting To Fly
6. Sugar Mountain
7. I Am A Child
8. The Loner
9. The Old Laughing Lady
10. Cinnamon Girl
11. Down By The River
12. Cowgirl In The Sand
13. I Believe In You
14. After The Gold Rush
15. Southern Man
16. Helpless
17. Ohio
18. Soldier
19. Old Man
20. A Man Needs A Maid
21. Harvest
22. Heart Of Gold
23. Star Of Bethlehem
24. The Needle And The Damage Done
25. Tonight's The Night (Part I)
26. Tired Eyes
27. Walk On
28. For The Turnstiles
29. Winterlong
30. Deep Forbidden Lake
31. Like A Hurricane
32. Love Is A Rose
33. Cortez The Killer
34. Campaigner
35. Long May You Run

Decade is not a regular “best of” put together, but a mix of previous unreleased songs like “Down to the Wire” and “Campaigner” and songs from earlier albums including Buffalo Springfield songs. Also, alternate versions of some songs in addition to a live performance of “The Needle and the Damage Done”.

There are four completely new songs and these are, besides the already mentioned, “Love is a Rose” with clear resemblance to "Dance Dance Dance" and “Deep Forbidden Lake”, both originally recorded for the unreleased Homegrown album.

Besides this, there is a collection of some of Neil’s “best songs”, like always it could be argued if the right selection was done.


•   Lucky Thirteen →