The album Greendale was released in August 2003 by Neil Young and Crazy Horse. It was produced by Neil Young and L.A. Johnson and was released on the Warner Bros. label.

Greendale cover


1. Falling From Above
2. Double E
3. Devil's Sidewalk
4. Leave the Driving
5. Carmichael
6. Bandit
7. Grandpa's Interview
8. Bringin' Down Dinner
9. Sun Green
10. Be the Rain

Greendale is a conceptual album, dubbed a rock opera. The songs centers around a fictional town bearing the name Greendale. It stands out from other Neil Young-Crazy Horse collaborations being calmer and only Ralph Molina and Billy Talbot from Crazy Horse is present on the recordings.

The song arrangements have resemblance with the tracks on Silver & Gold, although the presence of Crazy Horse changes the characteristics musically. Three of the ten songs stretch over ten minutes and only one is less than five minutes. Greendale is a collection of songs with lyrics that seems to turn into short-stories.

The reviews were mainly positive. Stephen Thomas Erlewine wrote for AllMusic about it: “it ebbs and flows and it holds together, playing as a unified whole on a level he hasn't approached since Ragged Glory”.


← Are You Passionate?   •   Praire Wind